Any Day But Sunday

As an RN, I work three 12 hour shifts a week. This leaves me with four days a week off to myself to do whatever I want (Or something like that…). I’m not going to complain here that it’s not enough because I don’t think the vast majority of readers will agree with me. What I am here to say is that I don’t like having nothing to do on a Sunday.

I can take a break any day of the week and still feel like it was incredibly productive, fun, and enjoyable. Even if it wasn’t a productive day, like today, where the vast majority of it was spent downloading music and watching Key and Peele, feels like a good day off. But Sundays always feel like the one day of the week where I’m not sure I’m going to make it another day.

Take yesterday, for example. I woke up and agreed to go running with my family. Even though I’m not in the peak track condition I use to be, I’m still in pretty good shape. But the run itself was just monotonous and boring. Throughout the entire one hour run I kept thinking about that Stephen King book I read where the boys had to walk nonstop until only one survived (For those who don’t know, it’s a good book called “The Long Walk”). I got back home, served the web, took a shower, and then decided that I was just going to go ahead and go to work. Yep! I decided to take a long one hour drive and go to work on a Sunday because I was bored. Plus, there’s the possibility of a strike and I wanted to cast my vote! Anyways, I get to work, do some audits (my coworkers all looked at me like I was crazy), cast my vote on the strike, and then headed back home. Productive day, sure. But all in all it was still a Sunday and something about it in it’s entirety just could not lift my spirits. Maybe it’s because I just got out of a relationship and I wanted something to occupy my time and…yeah. I think that’s why I’ve been dreading Sundays. Nothing truly going on to distract me from that achy feeling in my heart. I’ll write about this in another post.

Leave a Reply

