Postaday

Make Me Believe

What makes a good storyteller, in your opinion?

Every writer that I have fallen in love with has created within their story, a character that I can relate to. This character is essentially someone who appears so normal, so regularly, so average, but is taken on a journey of self-discovery where they discover their purpose, and have dedicated themselves to the journey, even at the risk of their own lives. “The Long Walk” by Stephen King, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho, even “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte. The character in each book has some level of drive that pushes them forward even after all hope seems to be lost. I love that. I love characters like that.

Are your favorite storytellers people you know or writers you admire? 

For me, it doesn’t matter who tells the story, just make me believe that I can be that character. I recently read a blog in which the writer is talking about her recent break up from someone she was with for well over eight years and I just could not stop reading her blog. I’m not sure how well known she is as a blogger/writer, but I couldn’t help but share my blog with my ex who also related to her story. I thought her work should be published because it’s too good to remain largely unknown. But he disagreed. It’s a very reflective piece, very personal, very normal and sad, and yet there is a magical quality that makes me fall in love and want to keep reading even after my heart is breaking. I love that.

Taken from this prompt: The Daily Post

An awesome blog worth reading that’s mentioned in this post: Diary of The Departed

Leave a Reply

