Travel Nursing

I’ve written a few posts about how I hate nursing and how I know this isn’t something I’d like to do for the rest of my life. That being said, whether I like it or not, I’m going to be in nursing for a little while longer. So I might as well make the most of it.

When I decided to go into nursing school, I chose this career because I wanted the flexibility, to avoid the office/cubicle life, and to have the money to fund my travels. I never saw myself working in a hospital, dealing with the sick, or even the business/political aspect of the career. I just wanted to travel and to be able to afford it. For this reason, I’m thinking about travel nursing!

The thing I’m struggling with at the moment is that I despise the politics, ego battles, pettiness, and all that other jazz that comes from working in this field. I often hear horror stories from nurses who receive the most difficult assignments when they float to another unit. I don’t want to deal with the hellishness. But I do want to take the risk. I need to explore my options.

Leave a Reply

