Sundays

Any Day But Sunday: Building Your Own Roads Takes Courage

“If you don’t like the roads you’re walking, start paving another one.” – Taken from Be Like Water Production

I hope I have the courage to take the next step. Many times I start things full of enthusiasm and end up losing steam coming close to the end. I’ve been taking stock of my life lately. I have a lot of things on my mental “to do list” that I haven’t been very proactive with. It’s not that it’s “hard”. I don’t exactly believe in “hard”. It’s that I’ve been lazy. It’s that I haven’t taken initiative. It’s that I’ve been preoccupied with things that do not matter. But as another saying goes, “A year from now, you will have wished you started today.” That’s how I’m feeling now. Like I should have started a year ago. But you know what? Today is a new day and I am building my own road now.

It’s occurred to me that out of all the virtues, the greatest virtue of all is courage. That’s what’s been crossing my mind whenever I feel discouraged, or overwhelmed, or afraid. That the greatest virtue of all is courage because without it, we can’t carry out the other virtues. I know this saying has been said on numerous occasions. But it’s called to my mind in those moments when I feel afraid. “Courage, c-nite. Have courage.”

Leave a Reply

