Lifestyle, Musings, Travel Nursing

The Incredibly Elusive Mr. Right

When I was younger, I use to become super excited to travel, not because I wanted to see new places, but because I was excited for the potential to find love! I would always put on my very best outfits because, “Mr. Right might be there!” It sounds silly, I know. But the allure of travel to me was the potential to find that perfect someone out there somewhere for me. This happened on my many trips to, during, and from the Caribbean, New York, Delaware, California, Nevada, Canada, Mexico, college, other people’s college campuses, etc. But Mr. Right was never there. And I was always disappointed. I recently received a job offer to work for 13 weeks in Texas and for a moment I found myself lifting up with the hope that Mr. Right might be there this time. That maybe this time around Mr. Right would make himself known. And then I stopped myself.

I’ve been looking for this elusive Mr. Right since I was 9 years old. He always changes shape, size, and face, but I always say that I’d know him when I see him. He was suppose to be in every state or country I visited but he was never there. He was suppose to show up and be my #1 travel buddy, companion, and friend. Mr. Right was suppose to understand me fully and accept me for who I am, to cuddle with me on those cold nights, and to snuggle up next to me as we watch movies late into the night. I wish I could tell you guys how many times I have worked on myself to make myself a better person in the hopes I would somehow draw Mr. Right and our fabulous life to me but no matter how high my vibration, no matter how much self-work I do,  Mr. Right remains hidden. I wish I could say that all of the self-work I did on myself, I did solely on my own behalf. But honestly, I’ve been living for Mr. Right for over a decade now. And now I’m going to Texas.

The last few weeks, I’ve been fantasizing about Texas, about meeting Mr. Right there and having him fall head over heels with me. I’ve fantasized that he’d be so smitten that he’d follow me to 2 different states (Texas and California) for 2 different travel assignments, and it would take him 6 months to finally work up the courage to ask me out on an official date and it would be in Alaska. Why Alaska? Because after I caught wind that Mr. Right was “stalking” me, I’d come up with some lie that I was going to take an assignment in Alaska, knowing full well that he’d buy a ticket to go there too! When I finally reveal to him that I’m not really going to Alaska and confront him about his true intentions, he’d tell me how he really feels and then he’d ask me out on an official date. Me, being taken back by his sincerity and honesty, and realizing that I’ve enjoyed his company these last few months, would then agree, take a month off from travel nursing, buy a plane ticket, where we would go on our first date in Alaska and talk by a wood fire place on some bear skin run in some fancy log cabin somewhere in Anchorage. I don’t even know if they have that in Anchorage! But it’s the only city I figured I’d like in Alaska. The point is, my plan was elaborate.

My assignment starts in March and I’m excited to venture into the world of travel nursing! I wish I could tell you guys it’s because I’m completely excited to see new sights, but it’s not. A big part of me is still on the lookout for Mr. Right or some cool new people to talk to or something I’d like to do. I’m also kind of bored. I think we all know what it’s like to be young and restless. Well, that’s me. So if I can find ways to alleviate my boredom and get paid to do it? I’m there.

5 thoughts on “The Incredibly Elusive Mr. Right”

      1. I understand – I have family in the Houston area and love visiting but I prefer being a Florida girl myself! 🙂 Let me know whenever you’re ready to make a jump to a new assignment – I’d be happy to see what else is out there if you have a specific area in mind! – Ashley

        Like

Leave a Reply

