Should and I

Dear Readers,

I know Should very well. Should and I are very, very well acquainted. Some of you may know her too. She’s the one who keeps reminding what a good, normal person looks like and ever so often you believe her and take her up on her offer to make you look like a regular person. Remember her? Yeah. She’s interesting right?

Recently, I met Should at my job out in Iowa. During orientation, Should kept telling me that we needed to get out and see the sights more, take more pictures, talk to more guys. You know, do normal people stuff. Should also kept reminding me to keep a smile on my face and to “look alive” and “sound alive” because people like that kind of thing and good, smart, well rounded people look like that. Honestly, all I really wanted to do was go home and watch a movie, maybe drive around a bit. But Should kept reminding me though that good, normal people my age are out doing stuff and being social. I tried to remind her that not everyone is like that and maybe I’m different, maybe I’m not normal, maybe I’m yaddy yaddy yadda. But Should kept telling me that I’m just being a cop out. She then pulled out pictures. Has Should ever done that to you? Shown you pictures of things and people and places? While doing that she tried to introduce me to her friend Must and he and I really need to go to these places together. Like Osh kosh my gosh! Should is quite the sales rep.

Should and I went back and forth for about two days before I said, “You know what Should? Fuck it! You do what you want to do and I’ll do what I want to do.” I then proceeded to give her pictures of people in sales and tried to highlight her many attributes and how her abilities fit the description for the job qualifications and told her to take a minute and let that sink in.

Leave a Reply

